Smiles

Standard

I’d heard that your baby’s smile will melt your heart, but I had no idea how true that would be. At 8weeks old, Logan is smiling pretty often. I think he knows how to work that smile, too. Our pictures from Samantha Abernathy Photography (below) turned out pretty great. We were very happy with her work.

I have new reasons to smile, as we’ve made a decision lately. I’ve decided to resign my full time job as a special ed. teacher and be at home with Logan.  I will still be working with Heritage Baptist, and am very excited about some of the ministries going on there.  But, I will not be returning to Woodstock High this year.

It was a decision we’ve been working through for a while.  It will be hard for us, and will mean learning ways to squeeze a budget. And I will miss my students very much. I know that working with students with special needs has forever changed the way I see the world.  I love this post from Momastery and the story about Lucy.  So true to what I experienced with many of the students.

But, we know it’s the right decision for us at this time. We’re not doing this for any pious reasons, or any notion of a woman being in the home with the children. Our marriage has always been a partnership and we’ve shared – and still share – the house ‘stuff’ pretty well. And I certainly don’t judge my mom friends who continue to work both as a mom and in the workplace. Jake and I were both wonderfully raised by great moms who worked their tails off both in the home and in the workplace. But, for us, we decided it’s time to move on to something different.  I will always have a heart for special ed students and families. I have to wonder what doors will open up for me in ministry because of my experience with special ed families. Hmm. You never know how God works in those things.

One thing I’m excited about is being able to see the little moments. And I’m excited about my time ahead. What I mean is, I have no illusions that being at home with Logan will be easy or that I’ll have loads of time on my hands.  That’s already proven to be a crazy idea. But I am excited about being able to use my time differently.  To mark hours and minutes in a different way than I have always done working full time at a job, usually a few jobs. I’ve always been a multi-tasker.  I’ve always enjoyed being busy, having lists, the whole bit.  But this new phase of life for me will have mean a new way of learning to multi-task and still be fully present. I don’t want to miss anything. No doubt, my new full time job has many demands.  But I’m excited about seeing how these days in ministry and mommyhood play out.

Speaking of time, little man has already shown us that just when we think we have his schedule figured out, he switches things up on us.

Some days he likes to take a LONG nap . . .

Sometimes we don’t sleep much at all that day.  He’s been known to help Jake with his work.

When Logan wouldn’t settle down for anything Mommy tried, we discovered that reading texts on Worship will calm him right down, and help Jake finish his work. Two birds, one stone, happy baby. Works for me.

He likes tummy time – for a short time. He’s seems to be getting more and more frustrated with it, though. Wonder why?  He sure does look adorable on his quilt from Mimi. He also loves to sit up and see the world.  He happiest when he can look out and around.  Here’s Logan in his early morning pose.  He loves to wake up early and have coffee with Dad.

Leave a Reply

